School Council

‘Every child has a Voice’

Each year children apply for a school council position. They apply in writing to Mrs Crickett, stating why they wish to be elected to the School Council. We aim to have at least one representative from each year group.


What are the aims of the School Council?

  • To make sure that our school is a safe and happy place for children.
  • To make sure that children have a place to voice their concerns.
  • To encourage all children in the school to suggest improvements.
  • To make sure any suggestions or concerns are listened to and acted upon.


What does the School Council do?

A School Council meets (with a teacher present - Mrs Crickett) to discuss and sort out problems and ideas. These may include school lunches, behaviour, business plans or ideas for fundraising events. Members of the School Council will be responsible for carrying out ideas that they have agreed, such as planning charity events, School workshops, meeting with Governors or other communities, putting forward views of other children in the School.

A good School Council is one that represents the views of the children and gets things done. These are some of the things that make our School Council effective:-

Regular meetings

Good communication between Representatives and the classes.

Smaller groups (sub-committees) working on specific events or issues.

Do they get things done?

So far we have helped raise money for the school, by running a stall during a Christmas shopping night selling crafts which the children from each class made. The shopping night raised over £600 for the school.

We will be running other fundraising events soon and we plan on helping the school earn the new Healthy School Award.

School Council Members 2016-17

Well done to all the children who applied to be a School Councillor. It is a very important job in School and the School Council represent the voice of the children.

Year 1: Aliza Barratt and Rosie Cocker

Year 2: Katie Hoskins, Emily Bertram and William Sever

Year 3: Freya Mills and Rayhan Iqbal

Year 4: Evie Cocker, Eleanor Sever, Isaac Jones and Theo Tremayne-Ryan

Year 6: Jessica Cocker