Early Years Foundation Stage

National Curriculum

In the Early Years Foundation Stage we look at three Prime areas and four Specific areas of learning and development.

Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-Confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking



Specific Areas


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure

Understanding the World

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Reception Class

For further information about the curriculum for EYFS please select from the documents below.


File icon: pdf EYFS Framework Parents Guide [pdf 725KB] Click to download
File icon: pdf EYFS Framework [pdf 236KB] Click to download
File icon: pdf St Agnes Primary School - EYFS Curriculum 2018-19 [pdf 268KB] Click to download